Flag of South Africa

The South African flag is a horizontal bicolour with an triangle on the left and a Y-shaped band over the flag. The used colors in the flag are blue, green, red, yellow, white, black. The proportion of the South African flag is 2:3. The Flag of South Africa was adopted in 1994. The first use of the current flag design was in 1994. The last change to the current South African flag design was in 1994.

Flag of South Africa

South African flag downloads

Countryflags.com offers a large collection of images of the South African flag. Our collection consists of vector files (EPS, AI, PDF, and SVG), images (JPG, PNG), wallpapers (all common formats for display, mobile and tablet) and an extensive collection of icons of the Flag of South Africa. The images are of high quality and can be used for non-commercial and commercial use without any costs.

Flag proportion

Ratio 2:3


  • First flag usage: 1994
  • Adoption current flag: 1994
  • Last change flag: 1994

Flag colors


About South Africa


54 841 552


471 445 sq mi
1 221 037 km2

Population density

116 sq mi
45 km2

Country information

Country: South Africa
Continent: Africa
Official languages: African, English, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu
Capital: Pretoria
Government: Unitary constitutional parliamentary republic
Border length: 3 021 miles / 4 862 km
Neighbouring countries
Botswana: 1 143 miles 1 840 km
Lesotho: 565 miles 909 km
Mozambique: 305 miles 491 km
Namibia: 601 miles 967 km
Swaziland: 267 miles 430 km
Zimbabwe: 140 miles 225 km

The South African flag is the flag of the country named South Africa. South Africa is located in continental Africa. South Africa has 6 neighbouring countries. The total length of land borders of South Africa is 3 021 mi/ 4 862 km. South Africa border neighbours and border lengths are: Botswana: 1,840 km, Lesotho: 909 km, Mozambique (2): 491 km, Namibia: 967 km, Swaziland: 430 km, Zimbabwe: 225 km.

54 841 552 people are living in South Africa, a country stretching over 471 445 sq mi/ 1 221 037 km² (0.38% water). The population density in South Africa is of 116 per sq mi/ 45 people per km². The official language of South Africa is Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu. The capital city of South Africa is Pretoria. South Africa is a Unitary constitutional parliamentary republic.

The currency in South Africa is the South African rand R (ZAR). UTC (standard time) in South Africa is UTC+02:00 and UTC+02:00 in summer. South Africa has the unique two-letter country code, ZA (also Internet top-level domain), its three-letter country code is ZAF, and its three-digit country code is 710. The calling code for South Africa is +27.




South African rand R (ZAR)


CET: UTC+02:00
CEST: UTC+02:00


Internet TLD: ZA
Three-letter country code: ZAF
Three-digit country code: 710
Calling code: +27