Flag of South Sudan

The South Sudanese flag is a horizontal tricolour fimbriated with white stripes and on the left side a triangle with a star in the middle. The used colors in the flag are blue, green, red, yellow, white, black. The proportion of the South Sudanese flag is 1:2. The Flag of South Sudan was adopted in 2011. The first use of the current flag design was in 2005. The last change to the current South Sudanese flag design was in 2011.

Flag of South Sudan

South Sudanese flag downloads

Countryflags.com offers a large collection of images of the South Sudanese flag. Our collection consists of vector files (EPS, AI, PDF, and SVG), images (JPG, PNG), wallpapers (all common formats for display, mobile and tablet) and an extensive collection of icons of the Flag of South Sudan. The images are of high quality and can be used for non-commercial and commercial use without any costs.

Flag proportion

Ratio 1:2


  • First flag usage: 2005
  • Adoption current flag: 2011
  • Last change flag: 2011

Flag colors


About South Sudan


13 026 129


248 778 sq mi
644 331 km2

Population density

52 sq mi
20 km2

Country information

Country: South Sudan
Continent: Africa
Official languages: English
Capital: Juba
Government: Presidential republic
Border length: 2 981 miles / 4 797 km
Neighbouring countries
Central African Republic: 424 miles 682 km
Democratic Republic of the Congo: 390 miles 628 km
Ethiopia: 549 miles 883 km
Kenya: 144 miles 232 km
Sudan: 1 204 miles 1 937 km
Uganda: 270 miles 435 km

The South Sudanese flag is the flag of the country named South Sudan. South Sudan is located in continental Africa. South Sudan has 6 neighbouring countries. The total length of land borders of South Sudan is 2 981 mi/ 4 797 km. South Sudan border neighbours and border lengths are: Central African Republic: 682 km, Democratic Republic of the Congo: 628 km, Ethiopia: 883 km, Kenya: 232 km, Sudan: 1 937 km, Uganda: 435 km.

13 026 129 people are living in South Sudan, a country stretching over 248 778 sq mi/ 644 331 km² (0% water). The population density in South Sudan is of 52 per sq mi/ 20 people per km². The official language of South Sudan is English. The capital city of South Sudan is Juba. South Sudan is a Presidential republic.

The currency in South Sudan is the South Sudanese pound ج.س. (SSP). UTC (standard time) in South Sudan is UTC+03:00 and UTC+03:00 in summer. South Sudan has the unique two-letter country code, SS (also Internet top-level domain), its three-letter country code is SSD, and its three-digit country code is 728. The calling code for South Sudan is +221.


0% water


South Sudanese pound ج.س. (SSP)


CET: UTC+03:00
CEST: UTC+03:00


Internet TLD: SS
Three-letter country code: SSD
Three-digit country code: 728
Calling code: +221