Flag of Russia

The Russian flag is a horizontal triband. The used colors in the flag are blue, red, white. The proportion of the Russian flag is 2:3. The Flag of Russia was adopted in 1991. The first use of the current flag design was in 1700. The last change to the current Russian flag design was in 1993.

Flag of Russia

Russian flag downloads

Countryflags.com offers a large collection of images of the Russian flag. Our collection consists of vector files (EPS, AI, PDF, and SVG), images (JPG, PNG), wallpapers (all common formats for display, mobile and tablet) and an extensive collection of icons of the Flag of Russia. The images are of high quality and can be used for non-commercial and commercial use without any costs.

Flag proportion

Ratio 2:3


  • First flag usage: 1700
  • Adoption current flag: 1991
  • Last change flag: 1993

Flag colors


About Russia


142 257 519


6 601 668 sq mi
17 098 242 km2

Population density

22 sq mi
8 km2

Country information

Country: Russia
Continent: Asia
Official languages: Russian
Capital: Moscow
Government: Federal semi-presidential constitutional republic
Border length: 12 438 miles / 20 017 km
Neighbouring countries
Azerbaijan: 176 miles 284 km
Belarus: 596 miles 959 km
People's Republic of China: 2 265 miles 3 645 km
Estonia: 183 miles 294 km
Finland: 833 miles 1 340 km
Georgia: 449 miles 723 km
Kazakhstan: 4 254 miles 6 846 km
North Korea: 12 miles 19 km
Latvia: 135 miles 217 km
Lithuania: 141 miles 227 km
Mongolia: 2 165 miles 3 485 km
Norway: 122 miles 196 km
Poland: 128 miles 206 km
Ukraine: 979 miles 1 576 km

The Russian flag is the flag of the country named Russia. Russia is located in continental Asia. Russia has 14 neighbouring countries. The total length of land borders of Russia is 12 438 mi/ 20 017 km. Russia border neighbours and border lengths are: Azerbaijan: 284 km, Belarus: 959 km, People's Republic of China: 3 645 km, Estonia: 294 km, Finland: 1 340 km, Georgia: 723 km, Kazakhstan: 6 846 km, North Korea: 19 km, Latvia: 217 km, Lithuania: 227 km, Mongolia: 3 485 km, Norway: 196 km, Poland: 206 km, Ukraine: 1 576 km.

142 257 519 people are living in Russia, a country stretching over 6 601 668 sq mi/ 17 098 242 km² (4.21% water). The population density in Russia is of 22 per sq mi/ 8 people per km². The official language of Russia is Russian. The capital city of Russia is Moskau. Russia is a Federal semi-presidential constitutional republic.

The currency in Russia is the Russian ruble (RUB). UTC (standard time) in Russia is UTC+02:00 to UTC+12:00 and UTC+02:00 to UTC+12:00 in summer. Russia has the unique two-letter country code, RU (also Internet top-level domain), its three-letter country code is RUS, and its three-digit country code is 643. The calling code for Russia is +7.




Russian ruble (RUB)


CET: UTC+02:00 to UTC+12:00
CEST: UTC+02:00 to UTC+12:00


Internet TLD: RU
Three-letter country code: RUS
Three-digit country code: 643
Calling code: +7