Flag of North Dakota

The North Dakota flag is almost an exact copy of the flag used by troops from North Dakota who fought in the Philippines-American war. The only difference is that their flag did not bear the name of the state. The colors of the flag are blue, red and brown. The size of the North Dakota flag is 3:5. The North Dakota flag was adopted in 1911. The first use of the current design was in 1911. The last change to the current design of the North Dakota flag was in 1943.

Flag of North Dakota

Downloads of the North Dakota flag

Countryflags.com offers a large collection of images of the North Dakota flag. Our collection includes vector files (EPS, AI, PDF and SVG), images (JPG, PNG), backgrounds (all common sizes of wallpapers for screen, mobile and tablet) and an extensive collection of North Dakota flag icons. The images are of high quality and can be used free of charge for non-commercial and commercial use.

Flag proportion

Ratio 3:5


  • First flag usage: 1911
  • Adoption current flag: 1911
  • Last change flag: 1943

Flag colors


About North Dakota


672 591


70 698 sq mi
183 108 km2

Population density

10 sq mi
4 km2

Country information

Country: North Dakota
Continent: North America
Official languages: English, German
Capital: Bismarck
Government: divided into executive, judicial and legislative branches
Border length: 0 miles / 0 km
Neighbouring countries
Canada: 0 miles 0 km
Montana: 0 miles 0 km
Minnesota: 0 miles 0 km
South Dakota: 0 miles 0 km

The North Dakota flag is the flag of the state of North Dakota. North Dakota is located on the continent of North America. North Dakota has 4 neighbors. North Dakota has the following neighboring states: Canada, Montana, Minnesota and South Dakota.

672,591 people live in North Dakota, a state with an area of 183,108 km² (2.4% water). The population density in North Dakota is 4 inhabitants per km². The official languages in North Dakota are English and German. The capital of North Dakota is Bismarck. North Dakota is divided into executive, judicial and legislative departments.

The currency in North Dakota is the U.S. dollar (USD). UTC (default time) in North Dakota is UTC-06:00 and UTC-05:00 in summer.




US dollar (USD)


CET: UTC-06:00
CEST: UTC-05:00


Internet TLD: US
Three-letter country code: USA
Three-digit country code: 840
Calling code: 1