Flag of North Carolina

The North Carolina flag is a blue vertical band on the hoist side, with two horizontal bands in red and white to the right of it. In the blue band between two ribbons are the initials of the state with a white star in between. There are two dates in the ribbons. The colors of the flag are red, white, blue and yellow. The size of the North Carolina flag is 3: 4. The North Carolina flag was adopted in 1885. The first use of the current design was in 1885.The last change to the current design of the North Carolina flag was in 1885.

Flag of North Carolina

Downloads of the North Carolina flag

Countryflags.com offers a large collection of images of the North Carolina flag. Our collection contains vector files (EPS, AI, PDF and SVG), images (JPG, PNG), backgrounds (all common sizes of wallpapers for screen, mobile and tablet) and an extensive collection of icons of the North Carolina flag. The images are of high quality and can be used free of charge for non-commercial and commercial use.

Flag proportion

Ratio 3:4


  • First flag usage: 1885
  • Adoption current flag: 1885
  • Last change flag: 1885

Flag colors


About North Carolina


9 535 483


53 819 sq mi
139 391 km2

Population density

177 sq mi
68 km2

Country information

Country: North Carolina
Continent: North America
Official languages: English
Capital: Raleigh
Government: divided into executive, judicial and legislative branches
Border length: 0 miles / 0 km
Neighbouring countries
Virginia: 0 miles 0 km
Tennessee: 0 miles 0 km
Georgia: 0 miles 0 km
South Carolina: 0 miles 0 km

The North Carolina flag is the flag of the state of North Carolina. North Carolina is located on the continent of North America. North Carolina has 4 neighbors. North Carolina has the following neighboring states: Virginia, Tennessee, Georgia and South Carolina.

9,535,483 people live in North Carolina, a state with an area of ​​139,391 km² (9.5% water). The population density in North Carolina is 68 inhabitants per km². The official language in North Carolina is English. The capital of North Carolina is Raleigh. North Carolina is divided into executive, judicial, and legislative divisions.

The currency in North Carolina is the United States dollar (USD). UTC (Standard Time) in North Carolina is UTC-05: 00 and UTC-04: 00 in the summer.




US dollar (USD)


CET: UTC-05:00
CEST: UTC-04:00


Internet TLD: US
Three-letter country code: USA
Three-digit country code: 840
Calling code: 1