Flag of Malaysia

The Malaysian flag is a flag with fourteen horizontal stripes and in the left corner a blue field with a crescent and a 14-point star. The used colors in the flag are blue, red, yellow, white. The proportion of the Malaysian flag is 1:2. The Flag of Malaysia was adopted in 1950. The first use of the current flag design was in 1950. The last change to the current Malaysian flag design was in 1963.

Flag of Malaysia

Malaysian flag downloads

Countryflags.com offers a large collection of images of the Malaysian flag. Our collection consists of vector files (EPS, AI, PDF, and SVG), images (JPG, PNG), wallpapers (all common formats for display, mobile and tablet) and an extensive collection of icons of the Flag of Malaysia. The images are of high quality and can be used for non-commercial and commercial use without any costs.

Flag proportion

Ratio 1:2


  • First flag usage: 1950
  • Adoption current flag: 1950
  • Last change flag: 1963

Flag colors


About Malaysia


31 381 992


127 526 sq mi
330 290 km2

Population density

246 sq mi
95 km2

Country information

Country: Malaysia
Continent: Asia
Official languages: Bahasa Malaysia, English
Capital: Kuala Lumpur
Government: Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy, Elective monarchy
Border length: 1 955 miles / 3 147 km
Neighbouring countries
Brunei: 237 miles 381 km
Indonesia: 1 107 miles 1 782 km
Thailand: 314 miles 506 km

The Malaysian flag is the flag of the country named Malaysia. Malaysia is located in continental Asia. Malaysia has 3 neighbouring countries. The total length of land borders of Malaysia is 1 955 mi/ 3 147 km. Malaysia border neighbours and border lengths are: Brunei: 381 km, Indonesia: 1 782 km, Thailand: 506 km.

31 381 992 people are living in Malaysia, a country stretching over 127 526 sq mi/ 330 290 km² (0.36% water). The population density in Malaysia is of 246 per sq mi/ 95 people per km². The official language of Malaysia is Bahasa Malaysia, English. The capital city of Malaysia is Kuala Lumpur. Malaysia is a Federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy, Elective monarchy.

The currency in Malaysia is the Malaysian ringgit RM (MYR). UTC (standard time) in Malaysia is UTC+08:00 and UTC+08:00 in summer. Malaysia has the unique two-letter country code, MY (also Internet top-level domain), its three-letter country code is MYS, and its three-digit country code is 458. The calling code for Malaysia is +60.




Malaysian ringgit RM (MYR)


CET: UTC+08:00
CEST: UTC+08:00


Internet TLD: MY
Three-letter country code: MYS
Three-digit country code: 458
Calling code: +60