Flag of Iowa

The Iowa flag has three vertical stripes in the colors blue, white and red, with in the white strip the name of the state under an eagle holding a ribbon with the motta of Iowa. The colors of the flag are red, white and blue. The size of the Iowa flag is 2:3. The flag of Iowa was adopted in 1921. The first use of the current design was in 1921. The last change to the current design of the Iowa flag was in 1921.

Flag of Iowa

Downloads of the Iowa flag

Countryflags.com offers a large collection of images of the Iowa flag. Our collection contains vector files (EPS, AI, PDF and SVG), images (JPG, PNG), backgrounds (all common sizes of wallpapers for screen, mobile and tablet) and an extensive collection of icons of the Iowa flag. The images are of high quality and can be used free of charge for non-commercial and commercial use.

Flag proportion

Ratio 2:3


  • First flag usage: 1921
  • Adoption current flag: 1921
  • Last change flag: 1921

Flag colors


About Iowa


3 046 355


56 273 sq mi
145 746 km2

Population density

54 sq mi
21 km2

Country information

Country: Iowa
Continent: North America
Official languages: English
Capital: Des Moines
Government: divided into executive, judicial and legislative branches
Border length: 0 miles / 0 km
Neighbouring countries
Minnesota: 0 miles 0 km
South Dakota: 0 miles 0 km
Nebraska: 0 miles 0 km
Wisconsin: 0 miles 0 km
Illinois: 0 miles 0 km
Missouri: 0 miles 0 km

The Iowa flag is the flag of the state of Iowa. Iowa is located on the continent of North America. Iowa has 6 neighbors. Iowa has the following neighboring states: Minnesota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Illinois and Missouri.

3,046,355 people live in Iowa, a state with an area of 145,746 km² (0.7% water). The population density in Iowa is 21 inhabitants per km². The official language in Iowa is English. The capital of Iowa is Des Moines. Iowa is divided into executive, judicial and legislative departments.

The currency in Iowa is the U.S. dollar (USD). UTC (default time) in Iowa is UTC-06:00 and UTC-05:00 in summer.




US dollar (USD)


CET: UTC-06:00
CEST: UTC-05:00


Internet TLD: US
Three-letter country code: USA
Three-digit country code: 840
Calling code: 1