Flag of Ethiopia

The Ethiopian flag is a horizontal tricolour with the national emblem in the center. The used colors in the flag are blue, green, red, yellow. The proportion of the Ethiopian flag is 1:2. The Flag of Ethiopia was adopted in 1996. The first use of the current flag design was in 1996. The last change to the current Ethiopian flag design was in 2009.

Flag of Ethiopia

Ethiopian flag downloads

Countryflags.com offers a large collection of images of the Ethiopian flag. Our collection consists of vector files (EPS, AI, PDF, and SVG), images (JPG, PNG), wallpapers (all common formats for display, mobile and tablet) and an extensive collection of icons of the Flag of Ethiopia. The images are of high quality and can be used for non-commercial and commercial use without any costs.

Flag proportion

Ratio 1:2


  • First flag usage: 1996
  • Adoption current flag: 1996
  • Last change flag: 2009

Flag colors


About Ethiopia


105 350 020


426 373 sq mi
1 104 300 km2

Population density

247 sq mi
95 km2

Country information

Country: Ethiopia
Continent: Africa
Official languages: Amharic
Capital: Addis Abeba
Government: Federal parliamentary republic
Border length: 3 311 miles / 5 328 km
Neighbouring countries
Djibouti: 217 miles 349 km
Eritrea: 567 miles 912 km
Kenya: 535 miles 861 km
Somalia: 994 miles 1 600 km
South Sudan: 549 miles 883 km
Sudan: 449 miles 723 km

The Ethiopian flag is the flag of the country named Ethiopia. Ethiopia is located in continental Africa. Ethiopia has 6 neighbouring countries. The total length of land borders of Ethiopia is 3 311 mi/ 5 328 km. Ethiopia border neighbours and border lengths are: Djibouti: 349 km, Eritrea: 912 km, Kenya: 861 km, Somalia: 1 600 km, South Sudan: 883 km, Sudan: 723 km.

105 350 020 people are living in Ethiopia, a country stretching over 426 373 sq mi/ 1 104 300 km² (0.7% water). The population density in Ethiopia is of 247 per sq mi/ 95 people per km². The official language of Ethiopia is Amharic. The capital city of Ethiopia is Addis Abeba. Ethiopia is a Federal parliamentary republic.

The currency in Ethiopia is the Ethiopian birr Br (ETB). UTC (standard time) in Ethiopia is UTC+03:00 and UTC+03:00 in summer. Ethiopia has the unique two-letter country code, ET (also Internet top-level domain), its three-letter country code is ETH, and its three-digit country code is 231. The calling code for Ethiopia is +251.




Ethiopian birr Br (ETB)


CET: UTC+03:00
CEST: UTC+03:00


Internet TLD: ET
Three-letter country code: ETH
Three-digit country code: 231
Calling code: +251